Monday, October 16, 2006

Tourism awards given at Governor's conference

Five awards recognizing contributions to the state's tourism efforts were presented at the Governor's 2006 Colorado Tourism Conference at the Keystone Resort and Conference Center last week.

The Colorado Tourism Office Board Chairman's Award was presented to Colorado Gov. Bill Owens for supporting several funding packages, including the recent $19 million funding given to the Colorado Tourism Office in 2006.

Outstanding Individual Contribution to Colorado Tourism was givent to Tim Edgar, executive director of the Logan County Chamber of Commerce.

Outstanding Community Tourism Initiative was presented to the 2006 Mesa Verde Centennial Celebration, recognized for collaboration among southwest Colorado organizations, governments, schools, businesses and hundreds of volunteers to produce a three-day, 100th-year national park anniversary celebration that brought thousands of people to Mesa Verde National Park.

Outstanding Tourism Volunteer was awarded to Irene Kohler and Irene McLain of the Fruita Welcome Center.
Advancing Colorado Award, new this year, was presented to the Delta County Tourism Cabinet for its program promoting the area's agricultural, historical and artisan-related industries driving tourism in the area.

No comments: